You are here

Court Info

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Illinois is a part of the 7th Circuit (along with Wisconsin and Indiana). The Northern District of Illinois is comprised of two divisions and covers 18 counties.
If the debtor's residence, principal place of business or principal assets have been located in one or more of these counties for the necessary period of time, the case should be filed in the Northern District of Illinois. The county determines the division.
Eastern Division: Cook, DuPage, Lake, Kane, Will, Grundy, LaSalle, and Kendall.
Western Division: Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, JoDaviess, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago.
The Office of the Clerk (in both divisions) is open from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. on all days except Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays.
The Customer Service Information line (312) 408-5000 will be answered from 8:30 until 5:00.
CM/ECF Help Desk: (312) 408-7765
Emergency New Case Filings Only: (773) 495-5842 and (312) 543-5460