Federal Holidays

2020 Federal Holidays

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 6103 of Title 5, United States Code, the following are legal public holidays. This Court, this Office of the Clerk and all agencies and departments of the Court will accordingly be closed on said days.
All orders, writs, process, pleading or other matters due on heretofore made returnable on any of said days, are hereby extended and continued as follows.
Wednesday, January 1 - New Year’s Day Thursday, January 2
Monday, January 20 - Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. Tuesday, January 21
Monday, February 17 * - Washington’s Birthday Tuesday, February 18
Monday, May 25 - Memorial Day Tuesday, May 26
Friday, July 3** - Independence Day Monday, July 6
Monday, September 7 - Labor Day Tuesday, September 8
Monday, October 12 - Columbus Day Tuesday, October 13
Wednesday, November 11 - Veterans Day Thursday, November 12
Thursday, November 26 - Thanksgiving Day Friday, November 27
Friday, December 25 - Christmas Day Monday, December 28
Friday, January 1, 2021 - New Year’s Day Monday, January 4, 2021

*This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

**July 4, 2020 (the legal public holiday for Independence Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, July 3, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)