
U. S. Bankruptcy Court – Northern District of Illinois 
Schedule of Fees – 28 U.S.C. §1930 

Effective 12/01/2014 
 

PETITION FEES CURRENT FEES 

Chapter 7 $335 

Chapter 9 $1,717 

Chapter 11 $1,717 

Chapter 11 – Railroad $1,550 

Chapter 12 $275 

Chapter 13 $310 

Chapter 15 –Ancillary $1,717 

ADVERSARY PROCEEDING FEES CURRENT FEES 
Complaint 

Exception – If the trustee or debtor-in-possession files the complaint, the fee must 
be paid only by the estate, to the extent there is an estate. 
 
Exceptions to the Fee – No fee is due from either the debtor or the United States. 
• No fee is due when either a debtor in possession acting for the benefit of an 

Individual debtor or an individual debtor initiates the adversary proceeding.  
 

Actions for which the clerk must collect the fee. The clerk must collect the fee 
when a debtor in possession files an adversary proceeding for the benefit of the 
estate. The following are examples of those actions: §363(h), §542(a), §544, 
§545, §547(a), §548(a), §550 and §553(b).  

 
• No fee is due for Complaints in Chapter 11 Cases filed by debtors in possession 

under section 1141(d) of the Code. 
• No fee is due for Complaints filed by debtors under section 1141(d) of the Code. 
• No fee is due from child support creditors. If a child support creditor or its 

representative is the plaintiff and files the form required by § 304(g) of the 
Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1994, no fee is required. 

$350 

Notice of Removal $293 

AMENDMENT FEES CURRENT FEES 
Amendment to Debtor's Schedule of Creditors, List of Creditors or Mailing List 

Exceptions 
• The bankruptcy judge may, for good cause, waive the charge in any case 
• No fee is due to change the address of a listed creditor. 
• No fee is due to add the name and address of an attorney for a creditor already 

listed on the original schedules, so that the attorney can receive copies of 
notices. 

• No fee is due when a debtor files a Schedule of Post-Petition Debts after 
converting from chapter 13 to chapter 7. 

• No Fee is due when a Schedule of Post-Petition Debt is filed on a Chapter 13, 12 
or 11. 

• No fee is due when debtors either amend their schedules or file new schedules 
because a joint husband and wife case splits. 

$30 
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U. S. Bankruptcy Court – Northern District of Illinois 
Schedule of Fees – 28 U.S.C. §1930 

Effective 12/01/2014 
 

APPEAL FEES CURRENT FEES 
Notice of Appeal/Cross Appeal 
(The clerk must collect both a notice of appeal fee of $5, and a filing fee of $293) 

Exemptions 
• No fee is due when the United States is the appellant. When the United States 

trustee is acting as trustee in a case, however, the clerk must collect the 
appellate docketing fee and the cross appeal docketing fee. 

• No fee is due if the appellant is a child support creditor or its representative who 
has filed the form required by §304(g) of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1994. 

 
Exception – Fees for appeals and cross-appeals by bankruptcy trustees and debtors 
in possession are payable only from the estate, and only to the extent there is an 
estate. This exception applies only to the $293 fee required by the Bankruptcy 
Miscellaneous Fee Schedule, and has no effect on the $5 notice of appeal fee under 
28 U.S.C. § 1930(c). 
 
• If a trustee or debtor-in-possession is the appellant, the fee must be payable only 

from the estate and to the extent there is an estate. 
• Parties filing a joint notice of appeal should pay only one fee. 

$298 

Motion for Leave to Appeal 
 
If a party files a motion for leave to appeal with the notice of appeal, the clerk must collect 
only the $5 fee for filing the notice of appeal. The clerk will collect the $293 docketing fee 
when the court grants the motion for leave to appeal. 

$5 

Direct Appeal 
 
Upon notice from the court of appeals that a direct appeal or direct cross-appeal has been 
authorized; an additional fee must be collected. 

$207 

CONVERSION FEES CURRENT FEES 

Motion to Convert Chapter 11 to Chapter 7   $15 

Motion to Convert Chapter 12 to Chapter 7 $60 

Motion to Convert Chapter 13 to Chapter 7 $25 

Notice of Conversion from Chapter 13 case to Chapter 7 $25 

Motion to Convert Chapter 7 to Chapter 11 (due upon conversion) $922 

Motion to Convert Chapter 7 to Chapter 11 – Railroad (due upon conversion) $755 

Motion to Convert Chapter 12 to Chapter 11 $0 

Motion to Convert Chapter 13 to Chapter 11 (due upon conversion) $932 

Motion to Convert Chapter 13 to Chapter 11 – Railroad (due upon conversion) $765 
  

Page 2 of 4   Updated: 11/05/2014 



U. S. Bankruptcy Court – Northern District of Illinois 
Schedule of Fees – 28 U.S.C. §1930 

Effective 12/01/2014 
 

DIVIDE CASE FEES – JOINT/SPLIT CURRENT FEES 

Motion to Divide a Joint Case – Chapter 7 $335 

Motion to Divide a Joint Case – Chapter 11 $1,717 

Motion to Divide a Joint Case – Chapter 12 $275 

Motion to Divide a Joint Case – Chapter 13 $310 

Notice of Conversion/Split Chapter 13 – 7 $335 

MISCELLANEOUS FEES CURRENT FEES 

Certification of any document $11 

Electronic Public Access Fee from Courthouse Terminal (per page) $0.10  

Exemplification of any document $21 

Photocopies/Reproduction any document (per page) $0.50  
Record Retrieval Fee (Federal Records Center) 

• For retrieval of one box of records $64 

• For retrieval involving multiple boxes $39 each 
additional box 

Record Search - per name or item $30 
Returned Check Fee [Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF)] – Any payment returned or denied for 
insufficient funds $53 

Deposition - 2004 Examination $46 

Registration of Judgment $46 

Quash Subpoena $46 

MOTION FEES CURRENT FEES 

Combined Motion for Relief from Automatic Stay and to Compel the Trustee to Abandon 
Property 
 
A party may combine a motion for relief from the automatic stay with a motion to compel 
the trustee to abandon property of the estate and pay a single fee. No fee is due for a 
combined agreed motion for relief from the stay and to abandon property. 

$176 

Compel Abandonment of Property of the Estate Pursuant to Rule 6007(b) of the Federal 
Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure 

$176 

Relief from Stay (terminate, annul, modify or condition the automatic stay) 
Exemptions for Certain Motions to Modify the Automatic Stay 
• No fee is due to file a motion for relief from the codebtor stay under 11 U.S.C. §§ 

1201 and 1301. 
• No fee is due to file a motion for court approval of an agreement to any type of relief 

from the automatic stay. 
• No fee is due to file a motion for relief from the automatic stay by a child support 

creditor, or representative of a child support creditor if they file the required form. 

$176 

Withdraw the Reference of a Case or Proceeding under 28 U.S.C. §157(d) $176 
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U. S. Bankruptcy Court – Northern District of Illinois 
Schedule of Fees – 28 U.S.C. §1930 

Effective 12/01/2014 
 

Sell property of the estate free and clear of liens under 11 U.S.C. §363(f) $176 $176 

Motion to Redact Filing per Rule 9037(a) $25 

PRO HAC VICE FEES (payable to the District Court prior to filing with the Bankruptcy Court) CURRENT FEES 

Leave to Appear Pro Hac (cases filed on/after 02/01/01) $50  

Leave to Appear Pro Hac (cases filed prior to 02/01/01) $100  

REOPEN FEES (due as of date of motion) CURRENT FEES 

Chapter 7 $260 

Chapter 9 $1,167 

Chapter 11 $1,167 

Chapter 11 – Railroad $1,000 

Chapter 12 $200 

Chapter 13 $235 

Chapter 15 – Ancillary $1,167 
The clerk must collect a fee equal to the filing fee for the chapter under which the case was pending as of the 
date the party files the request. 
 
The reopening fee must be charged when a case has been closed without a discharge being entered. 
 
The reopening fee must not be charged if: 

• A party files a complaint to obtain a determination under Rule 4007(b); 
• Debtor files a motion to reopen a case based upon an alleged violation of the terms of the discharge 

under 11 U.S.C. § 524; or 
• The reopening is to correct an administrative error. 
• Redaction is the only purpose for reopening. 

Transfer of Claim CURRENT FEES 

For filing a transfer of claim, per claim transferred $25 
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